“Beautifully written.  Moving, elegant, funny, and deeply human.”

 

    - Dani Shapiroauthor of Still Writing,

           Devotion and Slow Motion

 

*Book groups, writing groups, creative writing classes click here for a FREE copy of Walking Distance 

 

Publisher: Michigan State University Press, 2015
Paperback: 136 pages
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1611861861
ISBN-13: 978-1611861860

 

NEWS!     

*Foreword Reviews' 2015 INDIEFAB Book of the Year

*Next Generation Indie Book Award Finalist 2016

*Walking Distance excerpted in The Utne Reader

*For more news, click here for my Facebook Page

"Every year mothers and fathers experience the painful loss of a child through either miscarriage or stillbirth. Too often this loss is shuttled away, spoken of only in hushed tones, if spoken of at all. Yet those children matter as much to the parents as the children who survive, who live.

 

Walking Distance takes on the hard task of retelling what it was like for Lisa Holtby and her husband, the author, David Hlavsa, when they lose their first child, James, to a stillbirth.

 

In prose that is both deft and honest, Hlavsa crafts a narrative that ushers us into the immediacy of that event and its aftermath. Somehow he manages to put language to the unnamable, to make us turn from our weeping so we may see what is behind that weeping, to consider how such events transform us.

 

Hlavsa writes in the tradition of Anne Lamott, Bill Bryson, and Kathleen Norris, and readers who value books by these authors should hurry to get a copy of Walking Distance."

 

   - Todd F. Davis, winner of the Gwendolyn Brooks Poetry

        Prize, author of In the Kingdom of the Ditch,

        The Least of These, and Household of Water, Moon,

        and Snow: The Thoreau Poems